View Awards Schedule

 Gold, silver, and bronze medals, with blue ribbons.




The SC Conference showcases the best and brightest in HPC, both the rising stars and those who have made a lasting impression. A variety of awards honor important accomplishments in the field, from innovative achievements to work of enduring historical impact.

All Awards nominations are closed.


Society Awards



SC Awards


Test of Time Award

The annual SC Test of Time Award (ToTA) recognizes an outstanding paper that has deeply influenced the HPC discipline. It is a mark of historical impact that recognition that the paper has changed HPC trends. The ToTA also acts as an incentive for researchers and students to send their best work to the SC Conference and as a tool to understand what makes lasting results in the HPC discipline. Papers selected for the SC Program at least 10 years prior to the current conference year are considered for this award.

Past Test of Time Awardees

  • SC18: John Salmon and Mike Warren, “A Parallel Hashed Oct-Tree N-Body Algorithm” (published at SC93)
  • SC17: Michael Wolfe, More Iteration Space Tiling
  • SC16: Jack Dongarra and Clint Whaley, Automatically Tuned Linear Algebra Software
  • SC15: D. Bailey, E. Barszcz, J. Barton, D. Browning, R. Carter, L. Dagum, R. Fatoohi, P. Frederickson, T. Lasinski, R. Schreiber, H. Simon, V. Venkatakrishnan, and S. Weeratunga, The NAS Parallel Benchmarks – Summary and Preliminary Results
  • SC14: Bruce Hendrickson and Rob Leland, A Multi-level Algorithm for Partitioning Graphs
  • SC13: William Pugh, The Omega Project and Constraint Based Analysis Techniques in High Performance Computing


Best Paper Award

  • SC18: Matthias A. Blumrich, Nan Jiang, Larry R. Dennison, NVIDIA Corporation, “Exploiting Idle Resources in a High-Radix Switch for Supplemental Storage”


Best Student Paper Award

  • SC18: Jiajia Li, Jimeng Sun, Richard Vuduc, Georgia Institute of Technology, “HiCOO: Hierarchical Storage of Sparse Tensors”


Awards Presentations


SC18 Awards will be presented Thursday, November 15, 2018 with the exception of the following, which are presented as part of the Keynote session on Tuesday, November 13:

  • ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award
  • IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award
  • IEEE-CS Sidney Fernback Memorial Award

Awards Schedule

All Days
Tuesday, November 13th expand all · collapse all
Wednesday, November 14th expand all · collapse all
Thursday, November 15th expand all · collapse all
Back To Top Button