ACM SIGHPC/Intel Fellowships in Computational & Data Science Nominations Now Open

ACM’s Special Interest Group on High Performance Computing (SIGHPC), in partnership with Intel, awards the ACM SIGHPC/Intel Computational and Data Science Fellowships to 12 world-class students from under-represented groups in computing.

The fellowships, funded by Intel, were established to increase diversity among students pursuing graduate degrees in data and computational sciences, including women and students from racial/ethnic backgrounds historically underrepresented in the computing field. The fellowship provides $15,000 USD annually for up to five years for students at institutions anywhere in the world who have completed less than half of their planned program of study.

Students, nominated by their graduate advisors, span disciplines from finance and robotics to managing personal health data, and represent institutions of all sizes in 25 countries. In 2017, 80% of nominees were female, and 40% identified as an underrepresented minority in their country of study.

Nominations are evaluated and ranked by a panel of experts (themselves diverse with respect to race, gender, discipline, and nationality) based on nominees’ overall potential for excellence in data science and/or computational science, and the extent to which they will serve as leaders and role models to increase diversity in the workplace.

SC17 ACM SIGHPC/Intel Fellowships in Computational & Data Science Awardees

Of the 12 awardees at SC17, nine were women and six were underrepresented minorities in their country of study. They are pursuing graduate degrees in a variety of applied fields:

  • Kellon Belfon, PhD candidate, Stony Brook University
  • Linda Gesenhues, PhD candidate, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
  • Ananya Gupta, PhD candidate, University of Manchester
  • Maciej Kos, PhD candidate, Northeastern University
  • Jessica Micallef, PhD candidate, Michigan State University
  • Shannon Moran, PhD candidate, University of Michigan
  • Santiago Núñez-Corrales, PhD candidate, University of Illinois at Urbana–-Champaign
  • Laura Palacio Tamayo, MS candidate, Universidad de Medellín
  • Minu Pilvankar, PhD candidate, Oklahoma State University
  • Shefali Umrania, MS candidate, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Valeri Vasquez, PhD candidate, University of California, Berkeley
  • Emma Zohner, PhD candidate, Rice University


Funding is awarded in August. Winners receive travel support to attend the SC Conference, where they are recognized during the Awards Ceremony. Winners also receive a complimentary membership in SIGHPC for the duration of their fellowship.


The ACM Special Interest Group on HPC is the first international group within a major professional society that is devoted exclusively to the needs of students, faculty, and practitioners in high performance computing. SIGHPC’s mission is to help spread the use of HPC, raise the standards of the profession, and ensure a rich and rewarding career for people involved in the field.

For more information, visit:

Please note, nominations close April 30, 2018

Back To Top Button